About Frogs

Name and classification of frogs

  • Frogs are tailess amphibians (classification group).
  • Amphibians live part of their life in water and part of their life on land.
  • They are cold-blooded, vertebrate animals.
  • The frog belongs to the family Ranidae.
  • The family has more than 4000 species.

Identifying features of frogs

  • Frogs have two bulging eyes.
  • They have strong, long, webbed hind feet for leaping and swimming.
  • Frogs have big round ears on the side of their head called tympanum. These are located behind their eyes and are protected by a membrane.
  • They use long sticky tongues to capture their food.

What do frogs eat

  • Frogs are carnivores, they eat meat such as:
    insects including flies, mosquitoes, moths, dragonflies
    grasshoppers and worms.

The habitat – where frogs live

  • Frogs are found all over the world in every climate except Antarctica.
  • They can be found near any fresh water but prefer ponds, lakes and marshes.
  • Frogs can be found in deserts, rainforests, mountains and caves.

The life cycle of frogs

  • Frogs begin their life as frog eggs.
  • Tadpoles hatch from the eggs.
  • Tadpoles turn into froglets – the body forms legs.
  • The froglet’s tail shrinks, the lungs develop and the back legs grow. It is now a frog.

Some interesting facts about frogs

  • Frogs drink water and breathe through their skin
  • Frogs are able to sleep with their eyes open
  • Frogs can jump up to 20 times their body length
  • Amphibians must shed their skin as they grow

Other interesting facts about frogs

  • They have a three chambered heart
  • If you want a frog as a pet you have to have a license
  • Frogs look cute but feel slimy
  • Brightly colored frogs are usually poisonous
  • Many frogs are endangered species

Frogs are my favourite animal because they are green which is my favourite colour. They can be all different shapes, sizes and colours.